Everything Belongs… To You

Sometimes I get these little glimpses of how much more I am  meant for.

I feel like this little baby hawk, bemoaning a life that is the diameter of my nest, feeling his feathers ruffled by the wind, seeing these little glimpses of clouds blowing by and the profound blue-ness of the world above me, impossibly far away.

Except it is impossible only because of my lack of imagination and courage.

       I was meditating on the verse ‘’everything belongs to you” this morning and the strangest thing kept happening.   I had an easy time with the first couple words.   

      ‘’Everything belongs” is a sort-of slogan in certain circles, and for good reason.  It is a profound realization all by itself.

      I suppose it’s symbolic of where I am right now.  I had an easy time using these words as a mantra.  This is something I am thankful for.

      And yet I kept omitting the last couple words.  I am ok with the idea that everything belongs.  But it just seems too good.  Too hopeful.  It just couldn’t be possible that everything belongs to me, could it?

     Of course, everything belongs to you, dear reader, too.  This means that we all belong to each other.  I am yours and you are mine.

      Sometimes it’s hard to go easy on ourselves.  Sometimes the temptation is to grant kindness to others in places we wouldn’t offer it to ourselves.  Maybe that can be a little prod toward self love…. If i belong to the rest of the world, in a sense, I am obliged to treat myself well.

Leave a Reply

